Ways to Be Me-9780702308352

Ways to Be Me

Regular price
£7.99
Sale price
£7.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

by Scott, Libby, Westcott, Rebecca | Society & social sciences
Published 01/07/2021 by Scholastic in the United Kingdom
Paperback | 368 pages


From the bestselling author duo behind Can You See

Me? comes this exceptional portrayal of autism diagnosis,

with diary entries by 12-year-old autistic author Libby Scott.

Taking place before Can You See Me? and Do

You Know Me? this standout prequel follows Tally through her

autism diagnosis in her final year of primary school.

Ten-year-old Tally had high hopes for Year 6.

Being in the top class at school means a whole host of

privileges, but even better than that is the school production

- and Tally is convinced she'll win the lead role.

But at home, things aren't going so well. Mum and Dad have been

making Tally feel pressured and upset, and Tally wishes things

didn't bother her so much - but they do, and sometimes she feels

so misunderstood and frustrated, she could explode.

Then Tally's mum and dad tell her about something she's never

heard about before. Something called autism. And everything changes.

The third book written in collaboration with Libby Scott &

prequel to the bestselling Can You See Me?

When Libby's mum shared a short piece of Libby's writing online

it soon went viral, with tens of thousands of people saying that

Libby's writing helped them understand autism for the first time

This fictionalised portrayal of a young autistic

girl is written by Rebecca Westcott, in close collaboration

with Libby Scott, making it a truly original and inspirational book

that will give readers of all ages a deeper understanding of what

it's like to be autistic

Perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy, Wonder and The

Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time

PRAISE FOR CAN YOU SEE ME

'This is a powerful and highly relatable story about fitting

in and being yourself. Tally's diary entries give an authentic

insight into one girl's perspective of being autistic, and smashing

a host of common assumptions and stereotypes about autism

as we see Tally's potent sense of humour and her

deep empathy.' Booktrust

'Recommended for readers with autism who will feel genuinelyseen and for those desiring to see others

more clearly' Kirkus